It’s that time of year again...Nominations are now being accepted for the 2017 Canada's CFO of the Year™ Award. Presented annually by FEI Canada, PwC and Robert Half, this award – now in its 16th year – honours the quality, insight, direction and leadership of Canada’s senior financial leaders. Nominations close on December 16, 2016.

Candidates from any business sector may be nominated by anyone in an organization, but must be endorsed by the CEO. The award winner will be chosen by an independent selection committee in the new year that includes some of Canada’s most prominent business leaders, and is chaired by previous award recipient, Bruce Waterman. The recipient of Canada’s CFO of the Year™ Award will be honoured at a gala dinner at Toronto's Ritz-Carlton on May 17, 2017.

David King, Robert Half Canadian Director, says: “Canadian organizations continue to rely on their finance teams and CFOs for direction and guidance in achieving strategic business goals. Canada's CFO of the Year™ Award acknowledges the valuable contributions of the finance function within the organization and celebrates the CFOs who lead their teams to success.”

Visit for more information or to submit your nomination by December 16 for Canada’s CFO of the Year!

Robert Half’s Trevor Zigelstein, David King, Judy Munro & Stephen Mill with Gord Nelson, 2016 CFO of the Year (centre)

Previous recipients of Canada's CFO of the Year Award include:

2016 – Gord Nelson, Chief Financial Officer, Cineplex Inc.
2015 – Dean McCann, Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer, Canadian Tire Corp. Ltd.
2014 – Janice Fukakusa, Chief Administration Officer and Chief Financial Officer, RBC
2013 – Brian Lawson, Senior Managing Partner and Chief Financial Officer, Brookfield Asset Management
2012 – Colleen Johnston, Group Head Finance and Chief Financial Officer, TD Bank Group
2011 – Gordon Maron, former Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, PCL Construction Holdings Ltd.
2010 – Richard Bird, former Executive Vice-President, Chief Financial Officer & Corporate Development, Enbridge Inc.
2010 – Cynthia Devine, Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer at RioCan REIT (former Chief Financial Officer, Tim Hortons Inc.)
2009 – David Garofalo, President and CEO, HudBay Minerals Inc. (former Chief Financial Officer, Agnico-Eagle Mines Ltd.)
2008 – Bruce Waterman, former EVP, International Development and Chief Financial Officer, Agrium Inc.
2007 – Marvin Romanow, former CEO and Chief Financial Officer, Nexen Inc.
2006 – Karen Maidment, former Chief Financial and Administrative Officer, BMO Financial Group
2005 – Claude Mongeau, CEO (and former Chief Financial Officer), CN
2004 – Peter Rubenovitch, former Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Manulife Financial Group
2003 – Peter W. Currie, former Vice-Chairman and Chief Financial Officer of RBC Financial Group